Pioneer of Tolerance (Uwe Plath)

When the Reformer John Calvin gave the order to burn the scholar Michael Servetus as a heretic in 1553, the humanist Sebastian Castellio - once an employee of the reformer - was stunned. Castellio condemned Calvin in his writings and appealed to Christians to be more tolerant.

(This text was first published in "DAMALS - Das Magazin für Geschichte", issue 10/2015, www.damals.de)

Sebastian Castellio, whose 500th birthday we celebrate this year, was a man of the spirit of Erasmus: Christian humanist, philologist, pedagogue, theologian; especially fighter for religious tolerance. His pedagogical writings and his Latin translation of the Bible were reprinted up to the 18th century and used for Latin and religious education in many European countries. His arguments for freedom of religion and conscience are currently relevant. Nevertheless, this man is still widely unknown in Germany. Even though his biography was written by the French Nobel Peace Prize laureate, Ferdinand Buisson, and the Swiss historian, Hans R. Guggisberg; and his controversy against John Calvin was mainly known due to the novel of Stefan Zweig "A conscience against violence" - the book has been translated into many languages and been sold 100,000 times in Germany alone.

We do not know much about Castellio's youth. We do not even know the exact date of his birth, only the year of birth 1515. He was born in Saint-Martin-du-Fresne (Duchy of Savoy). His parents were simple, honest peasants, who conveyed him no great education, but a pious lifestyle and a sense of justice. Nowadays, Saint-Martin-du-Fresne is located in the French department of Ain, halfway between Lyon and Geneva. Both cities have influenced the life of the young man. In Lyon, an intersection of French and Italian culture, he received the basic principles of humanistic education. Here he became a classical philologist; here he witnessed, probably in January 1540, the first “burning of heretic” of Protestant Christians.

In Lyon, Castellio may have also read Jean Calvin's first "Institutio", published in Basle in 1536. In any case, he left Lyon in the spring of 1540 and went to Strasbourg, where Calvin lived until 1541 after his banishment from Geneva. Between both men a good relationship must have developed. Castellio even lived in Calvin’s house for a short time; and before the latter returned to Geneva, he entrusted the 26-year-old with the management of the Geneva school, which was of special significance for the development of an evangelical community and for the education of the theological offspring within the church constitution.

But very soon disagreements arose in Geneva, as Calvin refused permission to print Castellio’s French translation of the New Testament. They got worse when Castellio requested a ministry to improve his financial situation, and, in this context, contradicted the canonical character of the Song of Songs and Calvin's interpretation of the descent of Jesus Christ into hell. Already at this point, Castellio’s spirit of doubt and questioning became apparent, which emerged clearly in his later work, the "De arte dubitandi".

This was a kind of spirit which Calvin certainly did not need to build a Protestant Geneva. Therefore, he rejected Castellio "due to heretical mood" for a church office. The final break occurred in 1544 at a parish assembly, when Castellio interrupted the Biblical interpretation of Calvin and violently criticised the administration and the moral conduct of the Geneva clergy.

Castellio had to leave Geneva. He went to Basle, where he lived from 1545 to 1563 and died at the age of 48 years.

Lorem Ipsum Sit dolor

Als der Reformator Johannes Calvin 1553 den Gelehrten Michael Servetus als Ketzer verbrennen ließ, war der Humanist Sebastian Castellio – einst ein Mitarbeiter des Reformators – fassungslos. Castellio verurteilte Calvin in seinen Schriften und rief die Christen zu mehr Toleranz auf.

(Dieser Text ist erstmals erschienen in Heft 10/2015 von „DAMALS – Das Magazin für Geschichte“, www.damals.de)

Sebastian Castellio, dessen 500. Geburtstag wir in diesem Jahr feiern, war ein Mann vom Geist des Erasmus: christlicher Humanist, Philologe, Pädagoge, Theologe; vor allem Kämpfer für religiöse Toleranz. Seine pädagogischen Schriften und seine lateinische Bibelübersetzung wurden bis ins 18. Jahrhundert nachgedruckt und für den Latein- und Religionsunterricht in vielen Ländern Europas verwendet. Seine Argumente für Religions- und Gewissensfreiheit sind gerade heute aktuell. Trotzdem ist dieser Mann in Deutschland noch weithin unbekannt. Dabei schrieben der französische Friedensnobelpreisträgers Ferdinand Buisson und der Schweizer Historiker Hans R. Guggisberg seine Biographie; und seine Kontroverse gegen Johannes Calvin wurde vor allem durch Stefan Zweigs Roman „Ein Gewissen gegen die Gewalt“ bekannt – das Buch wurde in viele Sprachen übersetzt und allein in Deutschland 100 000mal verkauft.

 

Über Castellios Jugendzeit wissen wir wenig. Wir kennen nicht einmal das genaue Datum seiner Geburt, lediglich das Geburtsjahr 1515. Er wurde in Saint-Martin-du-Fresne (Herzogtum Savoyen) geboren. Seine Eltern waren einfache, rechtschaffene Bauersleute, die ihm keine große Bildung, wohl aber eine fromme Lebensführung und das Empfinden für Gerechtigkeit vermittelten. Saint-Martin- du-Fresne liegt heute im französischen Departement Ain, auf halber Strecke zwischen Lyon und Genf. Beide Städte haben das Leben des jungen Mannes geprägt. In Lyon, einem Schnittpunkt französischer und italienischer Kultur, empfing er die Grundlagen humanistischer Bildung. Hier wurde er zum klassischen Philologen; hier hat er, wohl im Januar 1540, die ersten „Ketzerverbrennungen“ evangelischer Christen miterlebt.

In Lyon wird Castellio auch Jean Calvins erste „Institutio“ gelesen haben, die 1536 in Basel erschienen war. Jedenfalls verließ er Lyon im Frühjahr 1540 und ging nach Straßburg, wo Calvin nach seiner Vertreibung aus Genf bis 1541 lebte. Es muss sich eine gute Beziehung zwischen beiden Männern entwickelt haben. Castellio wohnte für kurze Zeit sogar im Haus Calvins; und bevor dieser nach Genf zurückkehrte, vertraute er dem erst 26-Jährigen die Leitung der Genfer Schule an, der innerhalb der Kirchenordnung eine besondere Bedeutung für den Aufbau eines evangelischen Gemeinwesens und für die Ausbildung des theologischen Nachwuchses zufiel.

Doch in Genf traten bald Meinungsverschiedenheiten auf, da Calvin die Druckerlaubnis für Castellios französische Übersetzung des Neuen Testaments verweigerte. Sie verschärften sich noch, als dieser zur Verbesserung seiner finanziellen Lage um ein Predigtamt bat und in diesem Zusammenhang dem kanonischen Charakter des Hohenliedes und Calvins Auslegung der Höllenfahrt Christi widersprach. Hier zeigt sich bereits Castellios Geist des Zweifelns und Hinterfragens, der in seiner späteren Schrift, dem „De arte dubitandi“, deutlich hervortritt.

Es war ein Geist, den Calvin für den Aufbau eines evangelischen Genf nicht gebrauchen konnte. Deshalb lehnte er Castellio „wegen ketzerischer Anwandlungen“ für ein Kirchenamt ab. Zum endgültigen Bruch kam es 1544 auf einer Pfarrversammlung, als Castellio die Bibelauslegung Calvins unterbrach und heftige Kritik an der Amtsführung und dem Lebenswandel der Genfer Geistlichen übte. Castellio musste Genf verlassen. Er ging nach Basel, wo er von 1545 bis 1563 lebte und im Alter von 48 Jahren starb.

Menü