The writings of the opponents of Calvin are barely known

But it was an unequal struggle between Geneva and Basle. While the writings of Calvin and Beza against Castellio were printed in Geneva and spread from there in the whole world, could Castellio’s writings only be distributed and read secretly in the underground as a manuscript.

 

The “Contra labellum Calvini” with the famous phrase “To kill a man is not to defend a doctrine, but to kill a man” was printed in The Netherlands only in the 17th century; the “De haereticis non puniendis”, discovered before the outbreak of the Second World War in Rotterdam, was published in 1971 by a Geneva publisher. Both pamphlets were known neither to Calvin nor to Beza, nor to a wider public that time.

 

Until his death, Castellio found himself exposed to the attacks of his Geneva opponents who obviously wanted to muzzle him and banish him from Basle. Calvin's and Beza's criticism shifted from the tolerance question to Castellio's Bible translations, to the doctrines of Predestination and other theological questions. It was linked with violent verbal attacks against Castellio: he was insulted as a liar and traitor, as a Pelagian (follower of a doctrine in which men are able to achieve salvation on their own), as a patron of all possible criminals, heretic, papist, blasphemer and “academic”, which meant back then as much as radical doubter.

He was also accused of having written the translation of the Bible under the influence of the devil, of stealing wood from the Rhine and many other things of this kind. Especially Calvin did not shrink back from any insult and defamation; known is his curse directed against Castellio “Compescat te Deus, Satan” (“God tame you, you Satan”).

 

Castellio was given moral support by Melanchthon, who himself suffered from the political and theological antagonisms in German Lutheranism. In 1557, Melanchthon wrote a letter to Castellio. In which he deals with the religious disputes of the time and praises the Basle professor for his eruditeness and linguistic competence. Calvin reacted extremely upset. On the verge of his death – due to a complaint - Castellio had to defend himself before the Basle Council against the accusation that he was a heretic and would seduce the youth with his doctrine. However, neither a trial nor the realisation of the plan to emigrate to Poland took place, because Castellio died on December 29, 1563 in Basle.

The humanist's last statement , his written defence before the Basle Council, also contains the claim to settle religious disputes in the spirit of Christian love: “I also think now that the disputes that exist among theologians cannot be settled from the Scripture unless the spirit of Christ, who manifests the mind, and love are present”.

Castellio, like Calvin, had an impact on the history of The Netherlands, the United States of America as well on other countries of Europe. Even though he did not establish a church like the Geneva reformer, but his demand for religious freedom and partly the idea of separation of state and church have been included in the catalogue of human rights of the USA and the French Revolution. They have been incorporated into many constitutions and have become self- evident ideas of modern man.•

Dr. Uwe Plath

born in 1942, is a historian and theologian and has translated and commented parts of the writings of Sebastian Castellio.

Literature

SEBASTIAN CASTELLIO, Gegen Calvin. Contra libellum Calvini (Against Calvin. Contra labellum Calvini). Translated by Uwe Plath. Essen 2015.

UWE PLATH, Der Fall Servet und die Kontroverse um die Freiheit des Glaubens und Gewissens (The Case of Servet and the controversy over the freedom of faith and conscience). Essen, 2013.

Translated by Dr. Dieter Baumgarten (Taunus, Germany)

Die Schriften der Calvin-Gegner sind kaum bekannt

Doch es war ein ungleicher Kampf, der zwischen Genf und Basel geführt wurde. Während die Schriften Calvins und Bezas gegen Castellio in Genf gedruckt und von dort aus in der ganzen Welt verbreitet wurden, konnten die Schriften Castellios nur heimlich als Manuskript im Untergrund verteilt und gelesen werden.

Das „Contra libellum Calvini“ mit dem berühmten gewordenen Satz „Einen Menschen töten heißt nicht eine Lehre verteidigen, sondern einen Menschen töten“ wurde erst im 17. Jahrhundert in den Niederlanden gedruckt; das „De haereticis non puniendis“ vor Ausbruch des Zweiten Weltkrieges in Rotterdam entdeckt und 1971 in einem Genfer Verlag veröffentlicht. Beide Streitschriften sind damals weder Calvin noch Beza, noch einer größeren Öffentlichkeit bekannt geworden.

Bis zu seinem Tod sah sich Castellio den Angriffen seiner Genfer Gegner ausgesetzt, die ihn offensichtlich mundtot machen und aus Basel vertreiben wollten. Dabei verlagerte sich die Kritik Calvins und Bezas von der Toleranzfrage auf Castellios Bibelübersetzungen, auf die Prädestinationslehre und andere theologische Fragen. Sie war mit heftigen verbalen Ausfällen gegen Castellio verbunden: Man beschimpfte ihn als Lügner und Verräter, als Pelagianer (Anhänger einer Lehre, wonach der Mensch aus eigener Kraft in der Lage ist, das Heil zu erlangen), als Patron aller möglichen Verbrecher, als Ketzer, Papist, Gotteslästerer und „Akademiker“, was damals so viel wie radikaler Skeptiker bedeutete.

Man warf ihm zudem vor, er habe die Bibelübersetzung unter dem Einfluss des Teufels geschrieben, er habe Holz vom Rhein gestohlen und viele andere Dinge dieser Art. Vor allem Calvin schreckte vor keiner Beleidigung und Verleumdung zurück; bekannt ist sein gegen Castellio gerichteter Fluch „Compescat te Deus, Satan“ („Gott zähme dich, du Satan“).

Moralische Stärkung erfuhr Castellio durch Melanchthon, der selbst unter den politischen und theologischen Gegensätzen im deutschen Luthertum zu leiden hatte. 1557 schrieb Melanchthon Castellio einen Brief. Darin geht er auf die religiösen Streitigkeiten der Zeit ein und lobt den Basler Professor ob seiner Gelehrsamkeit und sprachlichen Kompetenz. Calvin reagierte höchst verärgert. Noch kurz vor seinem Tod musste sich Castellio – aufgrund einer Anzeige – vor dem Basler Rat gegen den Vorwurf verteidigen, er sei Ketzer und verführe mit seinen Lehren die Jugend. Zu einem Prozess kam es jedoch ebenso wenig wie zur Verwirklichung des Planes, nach Polen auszuwandern, da Castellio am 29. Dezember 1563 in Basel starb.

Auch die letzte Äußerung des Humanisten, seine Verteidigungsschrift vor dem Basler Rat, enthält die Forderung, religiöse Streitigkeiten im Geist christlicher Liebe beizulegen: „Ich meine auch jetzt, dass die Streitigkeiten, die es unter Theologen gibt, nicht aus der Schrift beigelegt werden können, wenn nicht der Geist Christi, der die Gesinnung offenbart, und die Liebe vorhanden sind“.

Castellio hat – ebenso wie Calvin – nachgewirkt auf die Geschichte der Niederlande, der Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika sowie anderer Länder Europas. Zwar hat er keine Kirche gegründet wie der Genfer Reformator, aber seine Forderung nach Religionsfreiheit, teilweise auch der Gedanke der Trennung von Staat und Kirche, sind in den Katalog der Menschenrechte der USA und der Französischen Revolution eingegangen. Sie sind in viele Verfassungen aufgenommen und selbstverständliches Gedankengut des modernen Menschen geworden. •

Dr. Uwe Plath

geb. 1942, ist Historiker und Theologe und hat einen Teil der Schriften Sebastian Castellios übersetzt und kommentiert.

Literatur

Sebastian Castellio, Gegen Calvin. Contra libellum Calvini. Übersetzt von Uwe Plath. Essen 2015. Uwe Plath, Der Fall Servet und die Kontroverse um die Freiheit des Glaubens und Gewissens. Essen 2013.

SEBASTIAN CASTELLIO MEMORIAL