Christians persecute themselves

In his preface Bellius distinguishes between two types of heretics: Some are heretics because of their lifestyle, others because of their religion. A judgement on the latter is difficult, as demonstrated by the disputes of Christians about baptism, the Lord's Supper, the worship of saints, and justification. It also shows: “Catholics, Lutherans, Zwinglians, Anabaptists, monks and others pursue and condemn each other more violently than the Turks the Christians.” These con- troversies are solely based on the ignorance of the truth.

Therefore, Bellius calls for tolerance in matters of religion (with words that are still relevant today): The Jews and Turks should not persecute the Christians; these not the Turks or Jews. “Likewise, we Christians should not condemn each other, but if we are wiser, we should also be better and more merciful. The better one knows the truth, the less he is inclined to condemn others.“ The demands for tolerance are underlined, above all, by passages of the New Testament, such as the parable of the weeds under the wheat (Matthew 13:24-43) and with the reference to the Day of Judgment (1 Corinthians 4: 5): “Therefore do not judge before the time, when the Lord comes, who will bring to light the things hidden in the darkness and will reveal the secret thoughts of men.

With Castellio's “De Haereticis” and Calvin's “Defensio” the polemic pamphlet warfare between Castellio and Calvin was not over: Castellio responded to Calvin's “Defensio” with the “Contra labellum Calvini” (“Against the Booklet of Calvin”); Theodor Beza, Calvin's closest confidant, refers to the “De haereticis” with the “De haereticis puniendis” (“About the punishment of heretics”). Castellio contradicted Beza with the “De haereticis non puniendis” (“On the non–punishment of heretics”), which he completed in 1555.

Christen verfolgen sich „heftiger als die Türken die Christen“

In seinem Vorwort unterscheidet Bellius zwei Arten von Ketzern: Die einen seien es wegen ihres Lebenswandels, die anderen wegen ihrer Religion. Über die Letztgenannten falle ein Urteil schwer, wie die Streitigkeiten der Christen etwa über Taufe, Abendmahl, Heiligenverehrung, Rechtfertigung bewiesen. Daran zeige sich auch: „Katholiken, Lutheraner, Zwinglianer, Täufer, Mönche und andere verfolgen und verurteilen sich untereinander heftiger als die Türken die Christen.“ Dabei beruhten diese Kontroversen allein auf Unkenntnis der Wahrheit.

Daher ruft Bellius zu Toleranz in Fragen der Religion auf (mit Worten, die auch heute aktuell sind): Die Juden und Türken sollten die Christen nicht verfolgen; diese nicht die Türken oder Juden. „Ebenso sollen wir Christen uns nicht gegenseitig verurteilen, sondern wenn wir klüger sind, sollen wir auch besser und barmherziger sein. Denn je besser einer die Wahrheit kennt, umso weniger ist er geneigt, andere zu verurteilen“. Unterstrichen werden die Forderungen für Toleranz vor allem durch Stellen des Neuen Testaments, etwa durch das Gleichnis vom Unkraut unter dem Weizen (Matthäus 13, 24 – 43) und mit dem Hinweis auf den Tag des Gerichts (1. Korinther 4, 5): „Darum richtet nicht vor der Zeit, bis der Herr kommt, der das in der Finsternis Verborgene ans Licht bringen und die geheimen Gedanken der Menschen offenbaren wird.“

Mit Castellios „De haereticis“ und Calvins „Defensio“ war der Streitschriftenkrieg zwischen Castellio und Calvin nicht beendet: Castellio antwortete auf Calvins „Defensio“ mit dem „Contra libellum Calvini“ („Gegen das Büchlein Calvins“); Theodor Beza, Calvins engster Vertrauter, auf das „De haereticis“ mit dem „De haereticis puniendis“ („Über die Bestrafung von Ketzern“). Castellio widersprach Beza mit dem „De haereticis non puniendis“ („Über die Nichtbe‧strafung von Ketzern“), das er 1555 fertigstellte.

Menü