The tolerance controversy against John Calvin

A first appeal of Castellio for religious tolerance is found in his to Eduard the VI directed preface to the Latin translation of the Bible (1551). Probably against the background of the interim that threatened Protestantism in Germany and religious persecution in Italy and France at that time, he denies the secular authority the right to judge over matters of faith, and calls for tolerance and charity, by referring to the New Testament.

Castellio became famous for the “Case of Servet”. In August 1553, Calvin had the Spaniard Michel Servet been arrested while attending church service in Geneva. Servet was burnt alive because of his criticism of the traditional doctrine of Trinity. Already the news of the arrest provoked violent indignation in the humanist circle in Basle: “This event has shocked many pious people and initiated the scandal of scandals, which will hardly ever be forgotten”, as it is stated in the “Report on the death of Servet” (“Historia de morte Serveti”), as its author Castellio applies. The scripture explains why the horror was so tremendous: because Servet was killed cruelly due to his religion and Calvin's help; because the Protestants had allied themselves with the Catholics; because Calvin had the books of Servet burnt; because faith must be free.

Castellio was the spokesman for this criticism, which was more widespread than previously assumed. It manifests itself in verbal utterances, in letters and poems; not only in Basle, but also in Geneva, in Bern, in the Bernese territories, in France, Italy and the Württemberg Montbéliard. It was so violent that Calvin considered it necessary to justify his behaviour through the “Defensio orthodoxae fidei” (“Defense of the Right Faith”, 1554). In this document he keeps a record of the “heterodoxies” of Servet and tries to prove that the secular authority has to persecute heretics. Especially the Old Testament serves him as a proof; for instance, the verse Deuteronomy 13:6, in which God explicitly commands the killing of those who want to dissuade the people of Israel from the true faith.

Calvin's statements were in distinct contrast to a booklet that appeared in Basle at about the same time, entitled “Can Heretics Be Persecuted” (“De haereticis an sint persequendi”). It is initiated by the preface of Martin Bellius directed to Duke Christoph of Württemberg and completed by the contributions of a Georg Kleinberg and Basilius Montfort; names, behind which verifiable or most likely Sebastian Castellio is hidden.

The middle of the book is constituted by texts of the church fathers Augustin, Laktanz, Jerome and Chrysostom and other authorities of the history of church and reformation, who all oppose persecuting and killing heretics. Not only Luther, Erasmus, Johannes Brenz or Urbanus Rhegius are cited, but also Castellio and Calvin; the latter with an excerpt from his first “Institutio” of 1536, in which he calls for clemency and humanity towards excommunicated, Turks, Saracens and other enemies of religion.

Die Toleranz-Kontroverse gegen Johannes Calvin

Ein erster Appell Castellios für religiöse Toleranz findet sich in seinem an Eduard VI. gerichteten Vorwort zur lateinischen Bibelübersetzung (1551). Wohl vor dem Hintergrund des Interims, das den Protestantismus in Deutschland bedrohte, und der damaligen Glaubensverfolgungen in Italien und Frankreich spricht er der weltlichen Obrigkeit das Recht ab, über Glaubensfragen zu urteilen, und ruft, indem er sich auf das Neue Testament bezieht, zu Toleranz und Nächstenliebe auf.

Berühmt wurde Castellio durch den „Fall Servet“. Im August des Jahres 1553 ließ Calvin den Spanier Michel Servet beim Besuch des Gottesdienstes in Genf verhaften. Servet wurde wegen seiner Kritik an der traditionellen Trinitätslehre lebendig verbrannt. Bereits die Nachricht von der Verhaftung löste im Basler Humanistenkreis heftige Empörung aus: „Dieses Geschehen hat viele fromme Menschen entsetzt und den Skandal der Skandale ausgelöst, der wohl kaum jemals in Vergessenheit geraten wird“, so heißt es in dem „Bericht über den Tod Servets“ („Historia de morte Serveti“), als dessen Verfasser Castellio gilt. In der Schrift wird begründet, warum das Entsetzen so groß war: Weil Servet wegen seiner Religion und mit Hilfe Calvins auf so grausame Weise getötet worden sei; weil sich dabei die Evangelischen mit den Katholiken verbündet hätten; weil Calvin die Bücher Servets habe verbrennen lassen; weil der Glaube frei sein müsse.

Castellio war der Wortführer dieser Kritik, die weiter verbreitet war, als man früher angenommen hat. Sie zeigt sich in mündlichen Äußerungen, in Briefen und Gedichten; und zwar nicht nur in Basel, sondern auch in Genf, in Bern, in den Berner Territorien, in Frankreich, Italien und dem württembergischen Montbéliard. Sie war so heftig, dass sich Calvin durch die „Defensio orthodoxae fidei“ („Verteidigung des rechten Glaubens“, 1554) zur Rechtfertigung seines Verhaltens veranlasst sah. Darin dokumentiert er die „Irrlehren“ Servets und versucht zu beweisen, dass die weltliche Obrigkeit Ketzer verfolgen müsse. Als Beweis dient ihm besonders das Alte Testament, etwa der Vers Deuteronomium 13, 6, wo Gott ausdrücklich befehle, denjenigen zu töten, der das Volk Israel vom wahren Glauben abbringen wolle.

 

Calvins Aussagen standen in deutlichem Gegensatz zu einem Büchlein, das etwa zur selben Zeit mit dem Titel „Ob Ketzer verfolgt werden dürfen“(„De haereticis an sint persequendi“) in Basel erschien. Es wird eingeleitet durch das Vorwort eines Martin Bellius an Herzog Christoph von Württemberg und abgeschlossen durch die Beiträge eines Georg Kleinberg und Basilius Montfort; Namen, hinter denen sich nachweisbar bzw. höchstwahrscheinlich Sebastian Castellio verbirgt.

Die Mitte des Buches bilden Texte der Kirchenväter Augustin, Laktanz, Hieronymus und Chrysostomus und anderer Autoritäten der Kirchen- und Reformationsgeschichte, die sich alle dagegen aussprechen, Ketzer zu verfolgen und zu töten. Zitiert werden nicht nur Luther, Erasmus,

 

Johannes Brenz oder Urbanus Rhegius, sondern auch Castellio und Calvin; dieser mit einem Auszug aus seiner ersten „Institutio“ von 1536, wo er Milde und Humanität gegenüber Exkommunizierten, Türken, Sarazenen und anderen Feinden der Religion fordert.

SEBASTIAN CASTELLIO MEMORIAL